REVIEWS

If you've enjoyed a particularly good night at The Diamond please write in a short review for this page would you? Just send us an email and we'll post it here on this page. It helps the bands to know what kind of show they produced, to gather bigger audiences and it also informs supporters of The Diamond . Try to give constructive feedback would you.... remember it's no easy job to get up on stage and perform.
 

From: "karen hardy"

Subject: Sunday 12th January 2014


Dear All,
Having driven 60+ miles on a cold, rainy Sunday night, it was so nice to receive a warm friendly welcome at The Diamond. Being a BIG fan of Dean Barton & Friends!! Also Chris Norman & Band!!! It was a big bonus to see them both on the same night (although i usually have to go to Germany to see Chris) lets hope both return very soon!! Thanks again to all for making it a night to remember, wishing you all the very best for 2014.
Best wishes Karen

To: golden.diamond@tiscali.co.uk
Sent: Thursday, August 01, 2013 10:59 AM
Subject: PMB

Thanks for a putting on Pat Mc Manus Band last night , it was a great gig by a truly world class act . We drove 85 miles for our first visit to the Diamond , what a great music venue and if we lived closer we would visit a lot more often. You deserve great credit for putting on bands of this standard and I will be back when PMB play again in December , oh and the Guinness was good too.
Best wishes Tom O'Connor

Sent: Sunday, June 23, 2013 10:56 AM
Subject: Kommitments Gig

It was our first time at the Diamond but won't be our last just wanted to congradulate you on a fantastic night. We love the Kommitments so it was a given that it would be a fab night but your staff were charming and from a girls point of view the best toilets ever kept clean and tidy all night which is something in a big club . Thanks again and see you soon.
Lissa

Sent: Monday, June 17, 2013 9:47 AM
Subject: Sex pistols experience


Hi all. Just a big thank you from us( the imposters) for letting us support the sex pistol 7/6 awesome night with great feedback too. We back again to support them again in November. Can't wait. Only ever been the the diamond to watch bands. Never had the pleasure until last week of playing there. Once again. Thank you. See u all soon.
Daz. (The Imposters)

From: Tony Bacon
Sent: Sunday, April 14, 2013 9:15 AM
Subject: Too Rex

Too Rex were brilliant Saturday night. A great crowd with a great party atmosphere. Top show.
Smokey

From: TooREX Bookings
Sent: Monday, April 15, 2013 12:22 AM
Subject: Thanks!

Just a quick note to thank you for a fabulous gig and for your excellent hospitality last night. We really enjoyed ourselves and were very pleased to see such a good turnout and so many new faces. Looking forward to seeing you again in July!
Bobby, Steevi, Ian & John.

ps please send our best wishes to June for a speedy recovery

From: Susan Neal
Sent: Sunday, January 20, 2013 2:13 PM
Subject: RE: Queen Tribute Night 19/1/2013

Hi Gary,just wanted to say how much our group enjoyed last nites gig with mercury they were superb. Close your eyes & Freddie was in the room. I had never been to the diamond b4 & the hubby not for over 40 yrs in his misspent youth. What was great was that our group aged from granddaughter at 18 to friends in their mid 70's and yet non of us felt out of place,nor threatened as everybody there was just having a really good nite out. We have already looked at your gig guide to see what's on in future,so be seeing you soon. Keep up the good works you&your team
Regards,Sue Neal

Sent: Sunday, January 06, 2013 2:32 AM
Subject: weekend of 21st and 22nd Dec

Myself and Carolyn came down to the Diamond from Manchester to see Limehouse Lizzy on the Friday and Rainbow Rising on Saturday. This was our third visit to the Diamond. We had two great nights. The bands were excellent the venue is friendly and the bar and admission prices are reasonable. All in all you have a great place and I only wish it was in Manchester. We will definitely be visiting again this year and would recommend the Diamond to anyone who likes good live music in a friendly atmosphere.
Cheers
Steve & Carolyn..

From: Tony Bacon
Subject: Limehouse Lizzy

Hi all at The Diamond. Great night Friday with Limehouse Lizzy. These guys are the best, with showmanship, musical talent and a great sound. If you like Lizzy, come and see these boys.
Smokey

Subject: Re: Too Rex

Just wanted to say a huge thanks for an amazing night on Friday!! You guys run a totally great venue and you were all so welcoming. Special thanks for continuing to serve us into the small hours when I'm sure all you wanted was to head home for some sleep!!! Anyhow, we both really couldn't have had a better night! Hopefully we'll get to you again in 2013.

Merry Christmas to you all, Sarah and Beth

Sent: Sunday, September 30, 2012 2:58 PM
Subject: (no subject)

hi , we would like to thankyou al for a fantastic night at the diamond, we were made to feel so welcome, everybody was sooo friendly we had a brilliant nigh the diamond is a gem!!! thankyou to you all again, gary, june, jay claire and the twins from aus at leicester sharon mick christie and louis xxxxxx

Sent: Sunday, June 17, 2012 3:34 PM
Subject: Dirty DC

What a night last night 2 hours 20 mins ( no break) of pure rock, Dirty Dc were awesome last night. The band were wet the audiance were wet, the whole place was wet. A night out the Diamond takes some beating. Superb I have to congatulate you for bringing this band and other bands to the club. Thanks Gary for a superb night. For those about to rock I salute you!

Regards Sam :)

Sent: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 2:24 PM
Subject: DIRTY DC

I made my 200 mile trip from E London to see  the Dc and wasn,t disappointed. The Diamond is friendly,vibrant and full of atmosphere with a good kitchen. That,s the way to listen to ac/dc in a club !! My friends Darren , Jo & Kieron the 7 yr old Angus all agreed what a great night. Keep up the good work See ya soon Still dripping

From: sam richards
Sent: Sunday, June 17, 2012 3:34 PM
Subject: Dirty DC

Hi Gary
What a night last night 2 hours 20 mins ( no break) of pure rock, Dirty Dc were awesome last night.
The band were wet the audiance were wet, the whole place was wet. A night out the Diamond takes some beating. Superb I have to congatulate you for bringing this band and other bands to the club. Thanks Gary for a superb night. For those about to rock I salute you!

Regards Sam :)

From: SHARI HELLYER
Sent: Wednesday, June 13, 2012 8:29 PM
Subject: Dan Reeds gig

Hi Gary and June,
I just wanted to write and say how much we enjoyed the night at The Diamond when Dan Reed visited recently. (I reserved 2 tickets at the door. I was the lady who asked for a glass right at the end of the gig to trap a moth that was flying around!) Dan a is a good friend of ours and it was a truly wonderful night. Dan sounded so good and to be included in the short lock in afterwards was a pure treat. I do have some of you on video of you playing your guitar Gary at the end, just wondered if you'd like me to do a copy for you?
It was a really great night and we all had a fab time. Should he play The Diamond again, we'll be there!

Kind regards Shari Hellyer , Lincoln.

From: Peter Melvin
Sent: Saturday, June 09, 2012 3:45 PM
Subject: Friday 8/6/12

What a great night last night Diamond,support by "Sarah Knight and the Bluetones" what a talent, and all round good band. Followed up by "Club Classic" non stop live disco band,three good vocalists sound great together,great backing.If you like to dance non stop this is the kind of act to visit the "Diamond" for. A regular live band "disco sounds " night just has to catch on. What a night, everybody loved it.
Bro.

Sent: Saturday, April 28, 2012 10:24 AM
Subject: Dire Streets

Wanted to say before I left last night but was hoisted out through the back door for the drive home!!!!.... you have THE best venue there and so wish we were closer. Absolutely fabulous and hope to see you again.
Eileen (The one getting in the way with a camera!)

Sent: Sunday, April 22, 2012 1:08 PM
Subject: Simple Minds and U2

Just have to say what a brilliant night last night was, two fantastic bands, we really enjoyed it, but then again we always enjoy it at the diamond, but there was something special about last night that left us going home on a “high” and was still there the next day. No nothing to do with drink (or other things) just wonderful music and great atmosphere.  Thank you both for this wonderful venue.
Love Betty and George

Sent: Sunday, April 08, 2012 12:56 PM
Subject: Last night

The Stones were awsome last night and great value for thier 2 hour +set. One of the best nights I have had at the Diamond.
Thanks Gary. ps. I am now a member
Regards Sam

Sent: Saturday, July 30, 2011
Subject: Limehouse Lizzy

Amazing gig from Limehouse Friday night. These lads cannot get any better. As close to the real deal as you can ge,( maybe slightly better). Please bring 'em back soon Gary. Smokey
Tony Bacon

Sent: Monday, May 23, 2011
Subject: Friday 20th May

Just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed the tributes to ACDC and Sabbath, Friday 20th. Disappointed that Judas Beast had pulled out, but nonetheless we had a fantastic night! We have visited the Diamond on several occasions now and its always a top night! As usual my 'over enthusiasm' on the dance floor resulted in me not being able to move my neck the next day... but well worth it! Still cant get over the friendliness of all the Staff. See you soon.
Sally Martin, Alfreton

Sent: Sunday, April 24, 2011
Subject: Desperado

Great to see Desperado on Saturday night. They get better each time I see them. Great sound and brilliant harmonies. The new guy, Steve Gee, fitted in seamlessly.
Book 'em again soon Gary!!
Tony Bacon

Sent: Saturday, March 26, 2011
Subject: Heavy Metal Kids last night March 25

Awsome gig last night with the HMK!!!!
It was terrific to hear all the old Gary Holton favourites again and Nasty Nick is just the job to do them justisce and with solid back-up from the rest of the guys Keith Ronnie and Cozmo who can still knock it out every bit as before. The new boy Justin(?).............well what can I say. perfect fit, has got the chops , the shapes , the voice and the wow factor. Wow!
Please have them back soon. Thank you!

Sent: Saturday, March 26, 2011
Subject: Heavy Metal Kids

Just to say how much my mate and I enjoyed HMK last night even without Gary Holton!.We both came to the ‘Golden’ Diamond (as was then) in the 70’s and saw them.
Martyn Coope

Sent: Sunday, March 27, 2011
Subject: A Foreigners Journey

A great gig last night with A Foreigners Journey. A full 2 hours of pure bliss. That John Oxley can truly play a guitar. Top band.
Tony

Sent: Thursday, February 24, 2011
Subject: Hello to Gary and June (And all at the Diamond.)

Just a quick note to say what an enjoyable time i had during the recent 'Diamond Quo' day there , last weekend.
I was the guy Gary Bedazzled with his card tricks and the Tommy Cooper Fez as the evening drew to a late close . I also did a short set. during the day.
Just had to pass on..the beer was great..the food very good, and everyone i had convinced to travel from all corners of the u'k to come to your venue for this thing are all in agreement with me...Top Notch Venue.
Could you remind your sound guy again what a terrific job he did on the day..(obviously don't go overboard, he may pester for a wage increase..ha-ha).

Once Again..very enjoyable, i hope to return some time in the future..

Regards..Colin Harkness.

Sent: Monday, February 21, 2011
Subject: Great Band

Just a quick line to say what a Fantastic Band we saw last night, 'Apart From Rod' it was great to see all the band enjoying themselves, the grooves were awsome, the best ive seen for a long while.

Cheers mate Tommo

Sent: Tuesday, November 23, 2010
Subject: RE: Gig 19th Nov

Hi Gary
Just a quick email to say thanks for last Friday We're all agreed its quite simply the BEST place we've ever played!!! If i lived local you'd have to chuck me out!!! Luv it!! Also we didn't get to say thanks and bye to Pete so if you could pass that on for us that would be great!! Top sound man!! We're looking forward to coming back soon!!! Also looks like a name hange is on the cards and your WHO with maybe a question mark seems the favourite
All the best mate Cheers, Graeme

Sent: Saturday, October 16, 2010
Subject: hiya

Names Peter and i came to see the Kinx last night at your venue which i am now a frequent visitor.I was the one fumbling about in the cold last night like an idiot trying to find my membership card and you were getting into your car! Had to get a replacement one and i must say there was no fuss and your staff were as usual brilliant,helpful and friendly.It makes so much difference and you really do feel like you are made welcome and you are not just a number who hands over his money.......Thought the gig was brilliant (i must admit your standards are very high and your admission fees pleasurably reasonable in these hard times) as usual and the band a credit to their profession.I look forward to my next visit and seeing you never too busy to talk to people when passing....which i find really great......Anyway thought i would just drop a line of thank you and congratulations on a unique and superbly run professional venue.(People are always quick to criticise in this world of ours but not so quick to congratulate on a job well done i find!!) I do travel the country and wherever i go i do recommend you to people especially if they are making a weekend trip up to the Midlands and want somewhere to go.All the best for the future.

Sent: Saturday, October 09, 2010
Subject: The Black Dogz


I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed The Black Dogz last night,these guys can really play,I was particularly impressed with the singer he really seemed to nail Robert Plants vocal acrobatics,I hope they are back at the Diamond real soon.
Tony
Sent: Tuesday, September 21, 2010
Subject: Gig Fest Sat 18th Sept

A group of 8 of us came to the All day Gig Fest on Saturday 18th.  Although there was not as many bands as last year, we still really enjoyed ourselves.  The tribute bands to Guns and Roses and Green Day were really something! The young singer of Green Day really got the crowd going.  He has some talent.  We have visited the Diamond a few times now, and our group keeps growing as we spread the word on what a great venue it is! Friendly atmosphere, great crowd - we just love it.  See you at Too Rex in November!!
 
Sally Martin.
Sent: Sunday, September 12, 2010
Subject: Desperado

It was great to see Desperado back at the Diamond after such a long time. Every song was played and sung with such perfection its hard to pick a favourite. The two new guys, Steve Ashcroft ( Acoustic ) and Steve James ( Drums ) really compliment the band and the result is a perfomance which is hard to better. Can't wait for the next time. Bring 'em back soon Gary.
Regards Tony Bacon
Sent: Sunday, August 15, 2010
Subject: RE: Tickets

Another fabulous night at the Diamond. We’ve been coming now for over a year and every gig has been top class. We’ve been to all sorts, from AC/DC to ELO to Queen. Our favourites so far have been Livewire AC/DC and Too Rex. We shall continue to drive up from Leicester for gigs, as there really is nowhere else like the Diamond around. Such a warm, friendly, unintimidating atmosphere. You always feel welcome and part of the gig. Long may the fantastic nights out continue. Definitely our favourite place to go out. Can’t fault it.

Best wishes, Dale and James, Leicester

Sent: Wednesday, August 11, 2010
Subject: Diamond Band Challenge Final 2010 - Great Night !!!

Gary, June and all staff at the Diamond.

I'd just like to thank you for the great night that we all experienced last Sunday for the final of the Diamond Band Chellenge 2010.
As usual, we witnessed a plethora of real talent and great live music-making from all the competing bands who all offered something different in style and content and the competition throughout was very close again this year.
I'd like to congratulate all the bands too for the way in which they supported and cheered each other's performances.

I was thrilled with the result because my lad is a member of the winning band SKM, but I also enjoyed all the other performances which made for a great night's entertaiment. In the past, SKM have competed in other BOTB competitions where the winners are usually defined by the size of the bus that their supporters turn up in. - Talent and performance taking second place.

Not so with your contest which is a true judgement of live performances on the night from judges with experience. The other big negative we've witnessed in other competitions is the tendency of some bands to be up their own a*se in thinking they are above the rest. Not so with your contest where the cosy atmosphere gets bands talking and interacting with each other so in the end everyone contributes to a great party atmosphere.

So congratulations to the great bands that took the cash prizes and bad liuck to the rest. Try again next year, your time will come.
Keep on keepin it live. Thanks again to ALL for such a memorable night.

Regards, Rob Taylor (SKM supporter)

Sent: Monday, July 26, 2010
Subject: Fred Zeppelin

Hi Gary and June
 
Just to say that Fred Zeppelin were so amazing on Friday. The crowd really appreciated Zeppelin and it is great to see them at the Diamond for the very first time! Please have them back again. We don't see enough of them in the East Midlands, especially as there are so few good venues left in the area. Well done and keep it live .Well done Fredz. Keep live music going and support your venues. Love Denise Bowman X
Subject: Maetloaf Hi Gary,
Just wanted to let you know that my mate and I thought Maetloaf were exceptional on Saturday night. Vocally they are probably better (now anyway) than the original. The girls were superb.

Nice one mate! Martyn Coope

Sent: Sunday, June 27, 2010
Subject: Robert Hart.

Hi Gary and June and all the staff. What a fantastic night we had. Robert was on top form and anyone who hasnt seen him should get down next time.They dont know what they're missing. A true rock star at the Diamond!!!! Cant wait for next time.
Sent: Sunday, June 06, 2010
Subject: RE: Exit State supporting U2 tribute

Hi Gary,
 
Just wanted to say a big thank you for having us on again at The Diamond last night, it stands out from the majority of venues we have played and you have an outstanding place there. Thanks to yourself for booking us on again, and all the staff and the brilliant, appreciative crowd.
We'd love to come back again sometime, let us know if there's anything available in the future.
 
Best wishes, The Exit State lads.
Sent: Tuesday, May 04, 2010
Subject: Dr Feelgood gig

Hi Gary
 
Just a quickie to say how much we enjoyed supporting Dr Feelgood on Friday, it's a great venue you've got there especially with a bit of a crowd in. Nice to stop over as well so thanks for that, gave the lad who cleans on Saturday morning the £20 for accommodation so hope he's passed tghat on to you.
 
Think Wilko Johnson would go down a storm there as well judging by the reaction The Feelgoods got.
 
cheers Nick of PRoM
Sent: Sunday, May 02, 2010
Subject: gun for hire.mick/sam

just want to say what a great night me and Sam had on Saturday. the band was great,could'nt believe how special you and June made us feel,  the bar staff were excellent too, you have a great venue, and you will be seeing more of us,21st may. if by chance you have any  tickets for queen please let me know.

Many thanks again for a great night, Mick and Sam

Hi Gary,

On behalf of Meanstreak, I would like to thank you for you and your family's kind hospittality during our stay in The Diamond.
We had fun and enjoyed our stay! Looking forward to see and meet you again.

Hi Gary
Just a quick note to thank you for another great gig and your kind hospitality yesterday. Look forward to seeing you all again on 31 July.
Best wishes Ian, Bobby, Steevi and Johnny - Too Rex
Sent: Monday, March 15, 2010
Subject: Viperlounge

Hi Gary
 
Just wanted to say how great it was at the Diamond on Sunday! We played a gig as part of Pete's charity bash with three other bands.
 
We had a great time and really enjoyed playing for you all. We couldnt stay till the end but from what i saw i think the Diamond is fantastic and is how a good club should be! Fantastic setting, classic decor and a fab stage and sound set up. We only stayed for Quo as i had to be up again at 6am as a teacher at a school in Birmingham, but im sure it went well.
 
We had a blast and it would be great and an honour to come back soon!
Take care and all the very best with the Diamond. Hope to catch a show soon!

RICH PARSONS
Viperlounge guitar/vocals
Sent: Monday, December 28, 2009
Subject: Bon Jovi Experience / The Treatment

Just wanted to say what a fantastic night I had on Saturday. Bon Jovi were amazing, but so were the support act - The Treatment. Just wondered if you had any further information on The Treatment, e.g a website address or anything?
Thanks again. Kind regards
Matt Ashlee
Sent: Thursday, December 10, 2009
Subject: airrace gig 4 dec 09

absolutely awesome night. Three great bands. The treatment,  young band with great potential and boundless energy on stage.  Airrace, superb.  Thanks to all concerned. Would love to see this line up again in the near future.
martyn n susan from Bolsover
Sent: Sunday, October 18
Subject: ZU2 + Driftrun

Hi everyone at The Diamond. Great bands last night. ZU2 were fantastic, but Driftrun were simply amazing. This band will go far. I'll be there when they play with The Modfathers in November.
DEAR GARY JUNE AND ZOE,
PERHAPS ITS ALL AROUND AND I JUST CANT SEE IT AND BIENG DEAF I PROBABLY CANT HEAR IT.
BUT IT WAS THERE, FOR SURE, LAST SATURDAY.
AND LIKE THANKYOU LETTERS ITS A RARE THING TO CHANCE UPON.
I REFER OF COURSE , TO KINDNESS FROM STRANGERS.
IT ALLWAYS CATCHES ME WITH MY GUARD DOWN AND ON THE BACK FOOT.
THIS BY WAY OF SAYING HOW MUCH WE WERE TOUCHED BY YOUR WELCOME AND THE TROUBLE YOU WENT TO TO MAKE SALLY MORE COMFORTABLE.
I HOPE I DID'NT RUN OVER TO MANY TOES OR DEADLEG THE UNSUSPECTING REGULARS, WITH MY CRAP STEERING OF THE WHEELCHAIR.
WE HAVE BEEN TELLING ALL WHO CARE  TO LISTEN ABOUT YOU, YOUR PLACE  HAS THE SAME ATMOSPHERE AS RONNIE SCOTTS  BUT THE TRUTH IS YOU HAVE TO HAVE HAD THE EXPERIENCE FIRST HAND.
WE ARE LIFELONG ROXY FANS AND WHEREAS SALLY AS SHE ALLWAYS DOES, WAS READY TO TAKE IT AS IT CAME, I WAS DRAGGED ALONG SCREAMING.
IN THE EVENT, I THOUGHT THAT ROXY MAGIC WERE VERY GOOD INDEED AND SALLY WAS RAVING ABOUT THEM FOR HOURS AFTER WE LEFT THE DIAMOND.
WE OF COURSE WILL BE BACK .
TAKE CARE AND TAKE CHANCES
WITH GRATEFUL THANKS + ALL GOOD WISHES
 
SALLY AND YAN
Sent: Sunday, September 13, 2009 4:40 PM
Subject: Too Rex

Too Rex were fantastic last night. Me and the missus had great night and will be coming to the New Years Eve show. Great sound again Simon.
See you all soon. 
Sent: Friday, August 21, 2009 1:31 PM
Subject: Rod n facez

Gary, thanx for a really good nite mate, John n me loved the Faces tribute and the hospitality we received from you and the missus...and of course the beautiful Zoe!! See you soon hopefully.
Garry
Sent: Wednesday, August 19, 2009 12:06 PM
Subject: Re: Blondie tribute

Came to see blondie uk last saturday and had a fantastic night. Great to see Denise and her band again. Really hope that they'll be back !
From: Tony Bacon
Sent: Sunday, July 19, 2009 9:17 AM
Subject: Desperado

Desperado last night were perfection. From the first song to the last, not a note out of place, ( even with Delroy's head mike slipping all over the place at the start ). To top it all they sang "In The City", which is my favourite Joe Walsh song but every song was top notch. Please bring 'em back Gary.
Tony
From: Nik
Sent: Saturday, July 11, 2009 12:02 PM
Subject: Re: Quireboys - Fri 10th

Hi Gary
Just wanted to thank you guys for putting all that together last night. I know it's what you do, but even so, it was a crackin' night. As a newcomer to Mansfield I didn't even know your venue existed, but having had such a great night, I will determinately be back.

Cheers again Nik
Subject: Gig Fest - Saturday 4th July 09

Just got to e-mail and let you know what a fantastic day me, my partner, my sister and her partner had last Saturday! Hells Bells were awesome! But my favourite band had to be Judas Beast! God they were good!  I danced me socks off! My neck was so stiff next day, it hurt! We met some really friendly people on the night, it was great.  It was the first time my other half had actually seen any live bands, and I was unsure what he would think of it.  But he can’t wait for the next all day gig! Thanks again Diamond.
Sally Martin

Sent: Saturday, July 04, 2009 7:20 PM
Subject: The Kinx

Hi everyone at the Diamond. The Kinx last night were INCREDIBLE. You must book this band again (preferably for a Saturday night). The musianship and harmonies were truly AWSOME!!!
Tony
From: Tony Bacon
Sent: Sunday, May 24, 2009 8:07 PM
Subject: The Stones

Hi Gary and all at the Diamond. The Stones last night were simply terrific, with every band member giving their all. Favorite songs for me were "Miss You" and "Sympathy for the Devil". Also a big hand to Simon (again), spot on sound as usual. See you soon.
Tony
From: Tony Bacon
Sent: Sunday, April 19, 2009 9:44 AM
Subject: Too Rex

Hi all at the Diamond. Too Rex last night was AWESOME!!! Can Steevie play them drums or what? Simply terrific. And Simon on sound desk, you got it bang on the nail, as always. See you soon.
Tony
From: Isabel
Sent: Wednesday, April 08, 2009 11:13 PM

Hi Gary,
Just a quick email to say how much  we enjoyed our night out at the Diamond last Saturday night. Not knowing Sutton that well, we were a bit apprehensive when we found your venue - but we needn't have worried. As soon as we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and the service at the bar was very efficient and friendly all evening.
(the food also looked great for the price - though we didn't participate )
Ultimate Madness where Brill and we had a good old bop!
Thank you once again and we certainly shall keep an eye on the Diamonds gig website - for future visits.
Kind Regards
Isabel Garratt
(catering manager - who appreciates good service )
Sent: Sunday, April 05, 2009 5:35 PM
Subject: sample minds

hi gary many thanks for getting these lads to play at ure club, the night was fantastic and a great start to my birthday, also many thanks to ureself and ure staff fo makeing us very wellcome cheers Pip
Sent: Saturday, March 21, 2009 7:07 PM
Subject: Springsteen Last Night
 
Just to let you know that I really enjoyed the Springsteen band last night.  They did an excellent set and were good value for money and I'd definitely recommend them to any other Boss fans out there.  I also enjoy your Meatloaf and Journey tribute acts.  Any chance of putting on Alike Cooper?
 
Best wishes, Kevin
Hi Gary,
We really had a great night, thanks. Of course we'll do it again.
Please give my best wishes to every one at The Diamond and thank them all.
All the best
Alvin Stardust

Subject: Ballroom Glitz

Hi there everyone -
Just a quick line to say thank you so much for the warm welcome at The Diamond - it is certainly an outstanding UK venue and we recommend it to any band out there - great vibe, fantastic audience and thanks to Gary and June for working so hard at promoting a real gem of a place.

Keep live and luvverly

Kathy Pete Ritchie, Val Scott and Lynton - Ballroom Glitz X

Subject: ELO Experience

Thanks for a great night on Saturday.  The ELO were just amazing - as always.  It was certainly worth the trip up from Bournemouth.
Many thanks from Adele & Peter Mitton - Verwood, Dorset.
Subject: In the Flesh

Just wanted to say thanks for a cracking night at The Diamond on Friday. It was my first visit to the gig and it won't be my last - it's a great venue..
The Floyd tribute band In the Flesh were unbelieveable - a really professional outfit who are going to be massive. They even had that noisy mob in the corner cheering them on in the end. Can we have them back again
please?

Shine on, dude. Chris
Subject: David Bowee

Hi Gary
Thanks for a great night - great venue and fantastic audience. Hope we can play The Diamond again in the near future.
 
Best wishes, Bowee
From: wayne
Sent: Monday, September 01, 2008 12:01 AM
Subject: RE: the diamond

Hi Gary
Many thanks for having us, we had a great time… thoroughly enjoyed the gig and appreciative audience!
Love to do it again sometime.

Regards, Wayne - Kounterfeit Kinks

From: Simon
To: golden.diamond@tiscali.co.uk
Sent: Saturday, August 30, 2008 10:44 AM
Subject: Quick note to say thanks!

Hi Gary, June & staff,
Just a quick note to say thanks for a great evening at the Diamond last night!
We travelled from Scarborough as we are big fans of Motorheadache! Enjoyed Led Zep 2 as well - a bit special those guys! We were the quiet couple in the corner of the bar near the dehumidifier! Thanks for providing a great venue - nice & friendly! Please get a full gig for M'Headache!

Best regards, Simon & Allison

From: Tony Bacon
Sent: Saturday, August 09, 2008 5:18 PM
Subject: Essential Journey

Hi all at the diamond,
What a fabulous band "The Essential Journey" are. Saw them last night and was blown away with the precise harmonies.
'Stone in love' set the hairs on the back of my neck on end. Cheers to the band and Gary for booking them.
Tony.
From: David Dunn
Sent: Saturday, August 09, 2008 11:31 AM
Subject: Essential Journey

What another great night at the Diamond,  Essential Journey were brilliant again, and a great bonus were support band Rolling Thunder, see you all soon. Dave
Sent: Saturday, July 12, 2008 4:46 PM
Subject: SASSAFRAS

Well Gary . Wot can I say. You pulled it off again. Wot a fantastic night again at the Diamond . Waited a long time for that gig but well worth it. Hope it's not too long before Sass make another appearence at the Diamond. Cheers again Gary for a great gig .
John.
Sent: Saturday, July 12, 2008 3:23 PM
Subject: Re. Sassafras gig

Hi Gary,
Just a quick of thanks for last night. It was a brilliant night. I hope it was as profitable for you as it was enjoyable for us.
Your venue is excellent as were the staff and the "sound", even your clientele made a couple of Southerners most welcome.
Once again many thanks, we will be coming back.....
 
Cheers n beers, Dave.J
From: Dave Bowater
To: golden.diamond@tiscali.co.uk
Sent: Wednesday, July 09, 2008 8:30 PM
Subject: U Bin Slayed at Diamond Club

Diamond of  a club, friendly people, great gig, see you soon luv Ian 
(Noddy)
From: Matt Young
Sent: Thursday, June 12, 2008 8:58 PM
Subject: Guns n Roses Tribute - Lose Your Illusion.

Hey Gary
Hey, thanks for the truly great gig at The Diamond last Saturday. We had a great time there and I hope Mick left eventually as we need him for a gig next week :)
 
As a tribute band we have played over 400 gigs in five years, toured various venues all around the Uk, Ireland and Europe. We would put the Diamond as one of our favurites. The atmosphere is electric, the P.A is top notch ( clear AND loud) and the people there are "Diamond". We look forward to coming back and enjoying all this again. Thanks Gary for the hospitality"
 
Thanks again and I hope to see you soon
 
Regards, Matt (Lose Your Illusion)

an old mate called in on sat night namely PETER SPENDLEY who i hav'nt seen for some time.
he was the diamonds first in house sound engineer and i allways said i would mention him on the web.
peter spent time and money to get things right at the diamond regarding p.a.but sadly had to leave after two years with us.
he was one hell of a sound engineer and a great guy to boot.
his wife selina backed him all the way and it was a great loss when he moved to hull with his family.
PETER will allways be remembered at the diamond by myself and all of our customers.
NICE ONE PETE
Sent: Sunday, June 08, 2008 11:01 PM
Subject: last night ;) thanks

Just wanna say that the iron maiden/ guns and roses gig last night was great. really loved powerslave; the guns n roses band could have done with a longer set. when will these bands be back please. Also, do you have a whitesnake tribute playing there soon?

Glen

From: le rock
Sent: Monday, April 14, 2008 2:40 PM
Subject: battle of the bands

hello Garry, June and the crew
 
 As you know I had the pleasure of being one of the judges at the final battle of the bands, this was a great night and the quality of the bands can only be described as amazing. if this is an indication of the level of bands we can expect to see in the near future then live music is safe in the hands of top venues like the diamond. I would like to congratulate all the bands as they all deserved to win and to say that I would recommend an evening with any of them.
I would also like to say a massive thanks to all the team at the diamond as without you guys there wouldn't be a venue.
 
thanks again, Kev French
From: BC Sweet
Sent: Monday, February 04, 2008 2:19 PM
Subject: Thanks from BC Sweet

Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to pop by and thank everyone at The Diamond for a fab night. Everyone from Simon and Mark out front to June and Gary and the LUVVERLY girl in the kitchen who made us fresh rolls after our show, were so nice and friendly. Thank you all, and especially the lunatic crowd who made it a joy to perform.

Please have us back soon. Marc - BC Sweet
Sent: Saturday, February 02, 2008 6:28 PM
Subject: sassafras

CHEERS GARY. WHAT A AWSOME NIGHT LAST THURSDAY NIGHT .  ENJOYED STRAY VERY MUTCH. WHAT A BAND. BROUGHT BACK MANY MEMORIES  WHEN I GOT HOME I STARTED TO THINK TO MYSELF BANDS IHAD SEEN AT THE DIAMOND YEARS AGO AND SASSAFRAS CAME TO MIND. HOW ABOUT IT GARY .I KNOW THEY ARE STILL DOING IT. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK CRACKING VENUE.  CHEERS JOHN.
From: Alan Dawes
Sent: Monday, January 14, 2008 10:36 AM
Subject: Fab 4

Hi there
 
Just a few lines to say what a great show on Saturday night with the Fab 4. Seen this band a few times but they really rocked on Saturday. Great crowd as well.
 
Hope the Fab 4 are booked to come back soon.
 
Also, what is the current position with the Gary Moore Band? I know that they have split, and moved on to other things, but I thought there was talk of getting them back for a one off gig. Would love to see Mark playing that guitar again!
 
Cheers. Alan.

From: michael hoare
To: golden.diamond@tiscali.co.uk
Sent: Monday, January 07, 2008 9:31 AM
Subject: Great gig

Hi there,

Just wanted to say I enjoyed my first visit to the Diamond to see Breathing Space and Edwina Hayes. Worth venturing out on a cold, wet and windy Sunday night.

Mike
Warthog Promotions

From: Tony Bacon
Sent: Monday, December 24, 2007 2:58 PM
Subject: Too Rex

Hi all the Diamond,
  Had a fantastic night on the 22nd December with Too Rex. The band are all so professional and seem to really enjoy themselves.
 A big hand to my namesake Stevie on drums, who makes it look so easy!!
 See you in the new year,
 Tony.
Sent: Sunday, December 23, 2007 7:27 PM
Subject: TOOREX

Hi Gary & June
 
Just wanted to say a big thank you again for a great night and thanks for looking after us as always.
Our nephew Jonathan was on his first visit to see the band and the venue and our friend Mathew was on his second visit to you and his third time with Toorex, we were also pleased to see three others from Manchester that had asked Stella a month ago what The Diamond was like so thank her for saying all the right things as they turned up and thought it was a fantastic place and you will see them again
 
Not bad 6 from Manchester there last night and maybe more in the future.
Before I forget can we book Room No 2 for ELO 26/1 and Toorex 26/4 27/9 31/12 before they get taken.
Thanks again to you both and all staff esp. the one who saved us with 6 portions of chips
 
Steve & Stella
From: Rob
Sent: Sunday, December 02, 2007 11:53 PM
Subject: Thanx for a great nite

Hi Gary + June,
   Just wanna say thankyou to you and your staff for making  our night at The Diamond a good one. HEART UK were fantastic. You were very friendly, we enjoyed the sing-a-long in the bar later. We have told our friends what a great night we had and they wanna come next time.  I've got the dates for the Bon jovi experience and hopefully we'll be seeing you in the new year.
 
Thanks again,
 
Rob (me) Dawn, Dave, Paula.
From: Ian
Sent: Tuesday, July 24, 2007 5:27 PM

Hi guys, Ian and Liz here.
 
Do get 'My Generation' back soon. Brilliant. Bass player was awesome, as was the singer.
Seeya soon-lots! 
Came from Norfolk on Sat 27th Oct to see Whitesnake uk. Great venue, great band and we were made to feel very welcome by everyone.  Looking forward to visiting again and staying over.
Many thanks
 
Keith & Debbie Francis
Sent: Sunday, October 07, 2007 11:57 AM
Subject: livewire

woke up sunday morning still buzzing after what i would say was a fantastic night with a band who's music brought back a lot of memories of my youth thanks for a great nite and keep it real
 once again thank you
Thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Diamond with Albert Lee.  Obviously slept well as didn't surface until 11.00am!!
Name: Andrew James
andrew.james62@ntlworld.com

Comments: Came to see Queen Mania last night. It was brilliant. I\'ve
never seen Queen live and these guys were as close to the real Queen as
I\'ll ever see. Fantastic night. I became a member of The Diamond and look
forward to many more gigs. Keep up the good work.

Andy

 Thanks a million for setting up the fantastic Albert Lee & Hogan’s Heroes Show on Friday, a 1000 carat night at the Diamond!  It was a real privilege to see this phenomenal man and his band at work in such an intimate setting.  He truly did leave us ‘Breathless’!
Best wishes,
Peter & Sheila Tarleton.

 PS.  Peter will send you the best of his pics when he’s checked them through.

Many thanks for a super evening of music from Albert and Hogans Heroes. We really enjoyed ourselves and as you said it's a very Rock  'n' Roll experience.

Trevor & Jean  (Minett)

Bad Company were AWESOME!!  The intimate venue just added to the whole experience and you get really close to the band.  The Dirty Riffs were a great choice of support band and capable of their own gig. The atmosphere was electric and Gary and the team were great hosts. If you haven’t tried this venue yet make sure you do as you won’t be disappointed.  We need more venues like The Diamond. The proximity of the band made this a better experience than the NEC!!  Gary – make sure Bad Company do a return gig!!!.

Amanda, Tom and BJ, Hereford

Hi there Gary,

Just a quick line to express our thanks for the great gig on Sunday at your superb venue. We all had a great time, and really enjoyed playing at The Diamond. Good to meet you too.

My Generation - a tribute to The Who
Sent: Monday, March 19, 2007 5:45 PM
Subject: LE ROCK PARTY

WHAT A GREAT NIGHT WE RAISED OVER £1600 FOR CHARITY AND HAD AN AWESOME TIME. JUNE GARY AND THE TEAM AT THE DIAMOND ARE WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST . EVERYTHING YOU WANT FROM A LIVE MUSIC VENUE! AND MUCH MUCH MORE.
THANK YOU  
KEV FRENCH
Just wanted to say a massive thank you to you and your wife for an incredible night on Saturday! The rooms were great and the atmosphere of the place was fantastic!! The Bon Jovi Experience rocked hard as always!
We are definetly coming up for that day of bands (cant remember what it's called!). I know your wife mentioned that all of your rooms are booked up for that night which is a shame but if you could let us know of some places near by that we could book in to for the night, that would be great!!!
Well thanks again and we will see you in May! Enjoy your holiday!!
 
Sonia

I just wanted to say thanks for this weekend, we all had a great time and it was definitely worth the 3 hour drive from London!!!!
The club is amazing and we will definitely try to come up again, thanks for letting us stay as well, it was definitely a great birthday!Keep up the good work and hope to see you again soon!

Jo

Just thought i'd drop you a line to thank you for making us so welcome on Saturday.  We had a fab time and are looking forward to coming down there again.  I've attached a couple of pics we took, hope you like them?

Lisa and Loo - Roadtrip

Sent: Sunday, January 07, 2007 12:19 PM
Subject: last night

Yet another night at the best night out in the country, thanks to all at the Diamond , to quote the song line, WE SALUTE YOU

Geoff Forste

Sent: Thursday, December 28, 2006 9:05 AM
Subject: larry miller

Cheers Diamond, December 22nd Friday night was a great night,great band, please have this man back again..
Larry Miller the best guitar player around.got his cd's on the night wow, a star.must tell folk to come along next time . all his own stuff the sound is fantastic,
all the best , daz.
Sent: Sunday, December 17, 2006 11:36 PM
Subject: Whitesnake Show - Thanks - Friday 15th Dec -M3

How you managed to book them I don't know, but 26 years after last seeing them they were even more polished than I remembered and well worth it. World class musicians on a local stage.
A great night, and well worth the b&b I chose around the corner (which was also great btw)
 
John Whiting
Sent: Tuesday, December 19, 2006 4:52 PM
Subject: Staying the night

Hi Gary and June
Just a note to say thanks for letting us stay last Saturday night after the Gary Moore gig, what a blistering set they played!, I`m glad we got to stay till the end, it would have been a shame to miss that, thanks again.
See you soon
Vic & Chris Allen
From: MARK BEALE
Sent: Monday, December 18, 2006 4:37 PM

Just a few lines to thank yourself, June and the girls for 4 years of putting up with us as both Mooreorless and The Garry Moore band. Every gig has been an absolute pleasure to play at your venue and the  foods marvelous too! I hope we did ourselves and you proud with our final gig last Saturday night-it certainly felt that way. The sound was great, the crowd was great and as always yourself and June were 1st class. I hope we will see you soon with the Deep purple band and your birthday Gary moore bash but moreover we will come up for a weekend and drink and chill as you described. Thank you once again Gary have a great Christmas and New year you deserve it.

Regards,

Mark Beale or better known as mark from the Garry Moore band

Came to see Garry Moore last night and as normal they were fantastic, it was nice to meet you and your venue is great and a room after what more could a live music fan want.
Once more thanks and we will definitely visit again please let us know if you get the boys to play there again.
Regards
Ann and Danny
Sent: Sunday, November 26, 2006 4:34 PM
Subject: wow

JUST A QUICKIE TO SAY HOW MUCH I ENJOYED RAINBOW RISING LAST NIGHT.
 
GEOFF FORSTER
Garry, June and team

Had a great night. Budgie were a class act. Thanks for letting us take part. Without a doubt the best venue for real music.

Kev French 
Sent: Saturday, November 18, 2006
Subject: Jester

What a fantastic night, many thanks for letting us support Budgie. I even sat down and talked to Burke Shelley ( my hero ) for an hour.  Great gig, great venue, thanks again.

best wishes, Barry Savage  ( Jester )

NOVEMBER 18th 2006. Tribute to Blondie. 

What a fantastic night.  The third time we have been to the Diamond and it just gets better every time.  I wish I had for breakfast whatever "Debbie Harry" had, the energy coming from that stage was unbeliveable.  Brilliant place everyone really friendly, your bar staff are spot on for serving (please pass that onto them).
Coming to see Too Rex in December, can you confrim date the poster in the hall said 18th Dec, your web site says Sat 23rd, what does the date mean when in "red" is it ticket only?
Would love to do New Years Eve, but don't think my little legs will get me back to Kirkby, will have to have a think about it.
Thanks for a great night

Bridgette and Tony

Subject: great night

Hi Gary and June, Anna and me had a great night Springsteen exculant, thanks for making Annas birthday a good one and a big thanks to June for lending us the lights  cant wait for next week i have inclosed a little reminder for you .

love Tina

Sunday, October 15, 2006

I travelled all the way up to you from Oxford last night to see Dressed to Kill - they were awesome, but the real result of the night was Angel House - absolutey superb and I'd definitely come back and see them any time.
FIrst time I've been up your neck of the woods but certainly not the last.
 
Hi Gary & June
 
Many thanks again for last night, truly great night and our latest signing Pete thought the venue was fantastic, hope you found the room key which I left in the office.
Are TooRex playing in December as it was mentioned last night but not on their website? Please let me know


Thanks again Steve & Stella & Purple Pie Pete. Manchester
Review of 'The Diamond' club, Sutton in Ashfield, Notts from The World Famous Gutterband.....

We had a great night playing at 'The Diamond' club in Sutton in Ashfield on Sept 7th 2006.  We were plesantly surprised by the size of the venue which turned out to be larger than we expected.  It was a good load up, which is always a major plus point with the amount of equipment we have, with the stage being easily accessible.
Everyone there from Management to barstaff were fantastic the whole night through. All were very friendly and Gary (management) was thoroughly helpful and co operative ensuring the night ran smoothly.
Primarily a Rock venue, the club is decked out with some fantastic rock memorabilia on the walls which was great to see.. but the fact it is a rock venue did not affect the welcome we received from staff or the audience. 
The audience came glammed up ready to party and were a great crowd... full of fun and very enthusiastic!!
The Diamond is certainly one of Nottinghamshires Premier Venues and we look forward to returning next year.
hi Gary
Just thought I would drop you a line to say what a fantastic night we had. Also I would like to say a big thank you for your hospitality, we only get the odd one or two gigs where we all get looked after.
It's just what our band needs as I think our band is a very hectic band with all the acting, the costume changing, all the props and hydraulics as well as performing the music. Getting looked after with teas, coffees, drinks from behind the bar and food at the end of the night is what we need and goes down well with us we always appreciate that sort of hospitality!
Also I would like to say a big thank you to the people who came to see the band at the diamond and making it a brilliant atmosphere!

THANK YOU  (aladinpain)
 
Subject: Jeff Leppard

Hello. Thanks for a great night. What a fantastic venue.
Jeff Leppard have to be the best Def Leppard Tribute I have ever seen. And what a crowd! Don't normally see people invade the stage for a tribute band. Can't wait to come up and see them again.

Take care. Paul

Subject: Jef Leppard (2nd Sept '06)

Hi guys,
Just wanted to say what a fantastic night my pals & I had last night at the Jef Leppard gig!
We all agreed that they were one of the best tribute bands we have ever seen.They were energetic, entertaining and SO close to the real Def Leppard. The musicianship was bang on, and considering it was the new singer's first gig with them, I think these guys did an amazing job. It was obvious the crowd loved them -especially as the stage was gate-crashed near the end!
Thanx for a fab night again - can't wait for their return to The Diamond!
Keep up the great work guys! :-) x

lyngx22@hotmail.com
Subject: The Bon Jovi Experience

Hi guys, just wanted to say what a fab time I had last night. The Bon Jovi Experience were fab as always but also everyone at the Diamond. It was my first time with you guys and you made me feel very welcome so I just wanted to say a big thank you and see you all again soon.
Annelise Jeal (Melton Mowbray) lise.jeal@virgin.net

Subject: UK Guns & Roses - Saturday 12th August 2006

Just wanted to say say  a huge thank you for such a great night as it was my first ever night at the Diamond. Everyone was really friendly, bar staff were excellent, great venue and what can I say about the band?
 
Well i'm still buzzing now after an unbelievable show, they were quite simply "awesome" . The atmosphere was electric and my ears have only just recovered. Do you know when they will be coming back to you?
Many thanks, see you very soon
 
Subject: the Bon Jovi Experience

Hi guys, just wanted to say what a fab time I had last night. The BJE were fab as always but also everyone at The Diamond. It was my first time with you guys and you made me feel very welcome so I just wanted to say a big thank you and see you all again soon. Annelise Jeal (Melton Mowbray) lise.jeal@virgin.net

Subject: Live Wire 28th July 2006

Hi to all at The Diamond. Just like to let you know what a great time I had last night (28 july) Live Wire were brill... fantastic ! Venue good, pint good, atmosphere good! I will be back for more very soon, Paul Steven
Subject: Bernard Marsden Show

Gary and June, and your daughter (Zowie?)
Met you last night at the above gig, superb gig, superb venue! Had a great evening, and a good drink! Sorry for keeping you up to the small hours, (@ 4.00am I think!).
Good hosts, good accomodation, and good atmosphere all round.
Once again, many thanks. Hope to see you for Martin Turner's Wishbone Ash. Really hope you can get Nazareth booked, as you suggested.
Keep up the good work. Billy Brealey (Sheffield), and Irish Jim, (Burton On Trent)

Take care, Bill. BILLBREALEY@aol.com

Subject: UB40 tribute: Johnny 2 Bad

Just a quick thank you to Gary and June for the booking, to all the staff for making us so welcome and to the people of Sutton In Ashfield for making our first gig at The Diamond so memorable.
We had an absolute ball and can't wait to come back again as soon as possible.
We see all kinds of venues (the good, the bad and the downright ugly!) around the country and The Diamond has to be one of the friendliest and most enjoyable.Thanks again to everyone there on the night. See you again soon.

Paul and all in UB40 Tribute - Johnny 2 Bad www.johnny2bad.biz .

Subject:Thank you

I visited the club recently and would just like to say what a fantastic time I had. The band was amazing, the musicianship was superb, FIRST CLASS. Ii would also like to compliment the staff  and everyone at The Diamond for making my stay all the more enjoyable.... what a lovely bunch of people. Great accommodation, excellent food and drinks.
It is not often you find a venue with so much to offer. Thank you all very much and I hope to see you again soon.
 
Subject: Livewire Friday 19th

Hello Gary, hello all at The Diamond.
Made our bi-annual journey over from Grimsby on Friday 19th to see Livewire....fantastic night as usual, excellent room, didn't get to taste the delights of the diner this time round though, no room for food....that pizza you saw us with at closing time we found at reception!!
Hope to see you all again soon and thanks again for your great hospitality.
 
Neil, Grimsby
Oasist was a top value evening.

Ian and Liz. ianneal57@ntlworld.com

I was at the Bon Jovi Experience at the end of may and I took a few photos – unfortunately I had a bit of a disaster as my camera memory card failed on me at some point so I lost most of the photos. I did get some recovered off the card but rather a pitiful number – here they are anyway http://www.lindleypetphotography.co.uk/galleries/bonjoviexperience/index.htm

Thanks for a great show! - Richard Lindley Photography 

Great night had at the recent Too Rex gig. Brilliant. Make sure they visit again!

Ian and Liz. ianneal57@ntlworld.com

previous page
copyright © 2008 thediamonduk.com. All rights reserved